Send tip

Jon Jones named ‘Fighter of the Year’ at the 2011 World MMA Awards

Written on December 02, 2011 by Markham Mencken

0 person

Jon Jones bags the Fighter of the Year at the 2011 World MMA Awards, Strikeforce champion Miesha Tate gets the Female Fighter of the Year award and late renowned Canadian trainer Shawn Tompkins receives a Special Lifetime Achievement award.

UFC’s light-heavyweight champion Jon “Bones” Jones bags the Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year award. One of the highlights of the 2011 Fourth Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards which took place last Wednesday, November 30th at The Pearl at the Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas. Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) fighter Chael Sonnen and CBS Sports Network’s Molly Qerim hosted the sponsored show.

Other highlights include Strikeforce champion Meisha Tate bagging the award for Female Fighter of the Year and a well-deserved Special Lifetime Achievement award for the late Canadian kickboxer and mixed martial artist, Shawn Tomkins. The show which honored achievements from September 2010 to August 2011 will soon broadcast nationally on FOX Sports Net via tape delay on Dec. 11 at 8 p.m. ET/PT (Eastern/Pacific time).

Read the rest of the article »

MMA Fighting Events


View all