Send tip

Santiago Bested Misaki at Sengoku 14, Plus More

Written on August 23, 2010 by Markham Mencken

0 person

While MMA fans were busy watching how Feijao put King Mo in depression, people in Tokyo were clamoring for the Sengoku 14 event. After their meeting last 2009, Santiago put another stop to Misaki's championship aspirations as the former wears the belt the second time around.

Jorge Santiago defeated Kazuo Misaki in the fifth round of Sengoku 14 last Sunday. During the rematch, Santiago defended his title by battering his opponent, until Misaki’s corner threw a white towel to end the fight. The rematch headlines the latest SRC fight card where Jorge Santiago, once again, is the Sengoku middleweight champion. The event was hosted by World Victory Road inside Ryogoku Kokugikan in Tokyo, Japan. The event also featured a Welterweight Grand Prix for the opening round, and a two-round Bantamweight tourney.

The full Sengoku Raiden Championship 14 results are listed after the skip.

Read the rest of the article »

Sengoku Raiden Championship 14 will Air Live on Sunday

Written on August 16, 2010 by Markham Mencken

0 person

Be ready for a late night because after "Strikeforce: Houston" airs live on Saturday via Showtime, HDNet will present the Sengoku Raiden Championship 14 the following morning. Do you have what it takes for an overlapping broadcast match?

HDNet will present a live Sunday morning broadcast of Sengoku Raiden Championship 14 at 2:00 am ET (11:00 pm PT Saturday). The event will be headlined by the middleweight  title fight between champ Jorge Santiago against challenger Kazuo Misaki. The latest offering from the Japanese-based World Victory Road promotion will be at the Ryogoku Kokugikan, Tokyo. In addition to the title bout, SRC 14 will also feature first-round grand prix welterweight fights, and second round bantamweight match-ups.

The Sengoku Raiden Championship 14 Full Card includes:

  • * Jorge Santiago vs. Kazuo Misaki (Sengoku Middleweight title)
  • * Taisuke Okuno vs. Nick Thompson (Welterweight Grand Prix)
  • * Yasubey Enomoto vs. Kenta Takagi (Welterweight Grand Prix)
  • * Shintaro Ishiwatari vs. Kil Woo Lee (Bantamweight Grand Prix)
  • * Takuya Eizumi vs. Shoko Sato (Bantamweight Grand Prix)
  • * Tatsuya So vs. Wataru Takahashi (Bantamweight Grand Prix)
  • * Hirokazu Nishimuya vs. Jae Hyun So (Bantamweight Grand Prix)
  • * Leonardo Santos vs. Sotaro Yamada
  • * Motoki Miyazawa vs. Takuya Sato
  • * Akihiro Gono vs. Jadamba Narantungalag
  • * Hatsu Hioki vs. Jeff Lawson

View Article Source »

MMA Fighting Events


View all