Send tip

Category: MMA

MMA Hall of Fame: Wanderlei Silva

Written on May 08, 2011 by Markham Mencken

0 person

A striking fighter makes it way to Fighting Insider's MMA Hall of Fame this week. Let's give it up to Wanderlei 'The Axe Murderer' Silva!

, aka , is known for his aggressive fighting style, since majority of his fights end up with a knockout or referee stoppage. His fighting style includes clinching his opponents and striking them with punches and knees. began his training at the Chute Boxe Academy in Curitiba, Brazil under Rudimar Fedrigo. Albeit he specializes in Muay Thai, also trained and acquired his black belt in Brazilian Jiu-jitsu from Cristiano Marcello.

He won over Kazushi Sakuraba thrice, and against Hidehiko Yoshida and Quinton ‘Rampage’ Jackson twice. He also have notable victories over Guy Mezger, Dan Henderson, Kiyoshi Tamura, Ikuhisa Minowa, Yuki Kondo, Kazuhiro Nakamura, Kazuyuki Fujita, Ricardo Arona, Keith Jardine, and .

After spending a good chunk of his career in Brazil, Wanderlei Silva moved to the US in 2007 and trained at Xtreme Couture. In search for a more aggressive gym atmosphere like the Chute Boxe Academy, he opened his very own The Wand Fight Team Training and Conditioning Center in Las Vegas.

International Vale Tudo Championships
IVC Light Heavyweight Champion

PRIDE Fighting Championships
PRIDE Middleweight Championship 2001-2007 (1 Time, First)
2003 PRIDE Middleweight Grand Prix Tournament Winner
2005 PRIDE Middleweight Grand Prix Semi-Finalist
2006 PRIDE Openweight Grand Prix Semi-Finalist
Most Wins & Knockouts in PRIDE FC History (22 Wins 15 Knockouts)

2004 Fighter of the Year [1]

Ultimate Fighting Championship
Fight of the Night (2 Times)
Knockout of the Night (1 Time)

Fighters Only World Awards
Fight of the Year (2008) – vs Chuck Liddell on December 29, 2007
Knockout of the Year (2008) – vs Keith Jardine on May 24
Gym of the Year (2010) – awarded to Wand Fight Team

Inside Fights
2008 Fight of the Year vs Chuck Liddell on December 29, 2007

Wrestling Observer Newsletter
2001 Feud of the Year (vs Kazushi Sakuraba)
2001 Shootfighter of the Year
2003 Shootmatch of the Year (vs Hidehiko Yoshida)
2004 Shootfighter of the Year
2004 Shootmatch of the Year (vs Quinton Jackson)


Related articles

MMA Fighting Events


View all