Send tip

Category: MMA UFC

The World MMA Awards 2010 Winners

Written on December 02, 2010 by John Paul Vill

1 person

Last night's 2010 World MMA Awards was spectacular from start to end. FightingInsider knows you are keen on knowing who got the awards and those who went home empty-handed. Nevertheless, those who received recognitions are all deserving.

Last night, the World took place at The Pearl in The Palms Casino Resort, Las Vegas. This is the third year for the award-giving body which started by magazine in 2008. and winners were determined from fan votes which was conducted online. Categories include Fighter of the Year, Knockout of the Year and Breakthrough Fighter of the Year, as well as non-fight specific categories like Ring Girl of the Year and Most Memorable Ring Entrance.

The past year’s winners included president as Leading Man of the Year, for Fighter of the Year and Brock Lesnar for Breakthrough Fighter of the Year.

The event was lead by UFC Hall of Famer Randy Couture with co-host Molly Qerim from Versus network. The event streamed live at, while the edited one-hour highlights version will air on Versus on Dec. 9 at 10 p.m. Eastern.

Here are the winners for the 2010 World . Congratulations to all!

Referee of the Year
Herb Dean
John McCarthy
Dan Miragliotta
Josh Rosenthal
Mario Yamasaki
WINNER: Herb Dean

Best Technical Clothing Brand
Bad Boy

Best Technical Equipment Brand
WINNER: Everlast

Media Source of the Year
Inside MMA
MMA Fighting
MMA Junkie
MMA Weekly

Best Promotion

Submission of the Year
Fabricio Werdum vs. Fedor Emelianenko, Strikeforce: Fedor vs. Werdum
Cole Miller vs. Dan Lauzon, UFC 108
Chris Leben vs. Yoshihiro Akiyama, UFC 116
Matt Hughes vs. Ricardo Almeida, UFC 117
Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen, UFC 117
WINNER: Fabricio Werdum vs. Fedor Emelianenko, Strikeforce: Fedor vs. Werdum

Gym of the Year
American Kickboxing Academy
American Top Team
Black House
Greg Jackson
Wand Fight Team
WINNER: Wand Fight Team

MMA Journalist of the Year
Conner Cordova, MMA Religion
Gareth A. Davies, The Daily Telegraph
Ariel Helwani, MMA Fighting
John Morgan, MMA Junkie
Aaron Teweles, Freelance Journalist
WINNER: Ariel Helwani, MMA Fighting

Coach of the Year
Rafael Cordeiro
Cesar Gracie
Greg Jackson
Shawn Tompkins
Firas Zahabi
WINNER: Greg Jackson

Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand
Silver Star

International Fighter of the Year
Shinya Aoki
John Hathaway
Dan Hardy
Alistair Overeem

WINNER: Alistair Overeem

Ring Girl of the Year
Arianny Celeste
Rachelle Leah
Brittney Palmer
Chandella Powell
Natalie Skyy
WINNER: Arianny Celeste

Leading Man of the Year
Scott Coker
Bjorn Rebney
Michael Schiavello
Joe Silva
Dana White
WINNER: Dana White

Most Memorable Ring Entrance
Clay Guida
Muhammad “King Mo” Lawal
Tom Lawlor
Jason Miller
Anderson Silva
WINNER: Jason Miller

Fight of the Year
Jorge Santiago vs. Kazuo Misaki, Sengoku 14
Chris Leben vs. Yoshihiro Akiyama, UFC 116
Brock Lesnar vs. Shane Carwin, UFC 116
Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen, UFC 117
Chan Sung Jung vs. Leonard Garcia, WEC 48
WINNER: Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen, UFC 117

Female Fighter of the Year
Zoila Frausto
Megumi Fujii
Sarah Kaufman
Cristiane Santos
Miesha Tate
WINNER: Cristiane Santos

Knockout of the Year
vs. Antonio Nogueira, UFC 110
Lyoto Machida vs. Mauricio Rua, UFC 113
Mike Russow vs. Todd Duffee, UFC 114
Rich Franklin vs. Chuck Liddell, UFC 115
Anthony Njokuani vs. Chris Horodecki, WEC 45
WINNER: Mauricio Rua over Lyoto Machida, UFC 113

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Evan Dunham
John Hathaway

Charles Oliveira
George Sotiropoulos
WINNER: Jon Jones

The Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year

Jose Aldo
Frankie Edgar
Brock Lesnar
Mauricio Rua
Anderson Silva
WINNER: Jose Aldo

View Article Source »

Related articles

MMA Fighting Events


View all