Send tip

Category: MMA UFC

MMA Awards 2010: Now Open for Nominations

Written on August 16, 2010 by John Paul Vill

1 person

It's the award season for the world of cage fighting, and the MMA Awards 2010 is now open for Nominations.

”, the World is now on its third season’s installment and is now taking down nominations for the 2010 cover.

Nomination is based on the performance of the fighters from September last year until the end of this month. Under 20 categories until September 26. Finalists will be announced on October 1 and the voting ends on November 26 at the

The winners will be awarded at The Pearl at the Palms Casino, Vegas on December 1 with a black-tie reception. All of this sponsored by Broadcast details are to be announced.

“The anticipation for the 2010 awards has been a little overwhelming,” Rob Hewitt, President and CEO of “Fighters Only,” stated. “I couldn’t be more thrilled by the potential of this year’s event. “I’d like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who’s supported us in making the World Awards a landmark occasion in the industry’s calendar and appeal to the fans to let their voices be heard.”

The , Greg Jackson and TapouT were multi-category winners in 2009. Additionally, major-category victors included (Fighter of the Year), Cristiane “Cyborg” Santos (Female Fighter of the Year), the UFC (Best Promotion), Dan Henderson (KO of the Year), Toby Imada (Submission of the Year), and Clay Guida (Fight of the Year) and Brock Lesnar (Breakthrough Fighter of the Year). picked up an award in the “Best Media Source” category, and’s John Morgan was named “Best MMA Journalist.”

New categories for 2010 include Referee of the Year, Most Memorable Ring Entrance, Best Technical Equipment Brand, and Best Technical Clothing Brand.

Nominate your favorites now at, and check out the 2009 winners below:

Special Lifetime Achievement Award: Charles “Mask” Lewis Jr., TapouT
Fighter of the Year: Georges St-Pierre
Female Fighter of the Year: Cristiane “Cyborg” Santos
European Fighter of the Year: Gegard Mousasi
Breakthrough Fighter of the Year: Brock Lesnar
Fight of the Year: Diego Sanchez and Clay Guida (The Ultimate Fighter 9 Finale)
KO of the Year: Dan Henderson (vs. at UFC 100)
Submission of the Year: Toby Imada (vs. Jorge Masvidal at Bellator 5)
Best Promotion: UFC
Leading Man of the Year: , UFC president
Best MMA Brand: TapouT
Coach of the Year: Greg Jackson
Gym of the Year: Greg Jackson’s Submission Fighting
Ring Girl of the Year: Arianny Celeste, UFC
Best Media Source:
Best MMA Journalist: John Morgan,”Dallas Morning News”
Best Overall MMA Clothing Manufacturer: TapouT
Best MMA Shorts Manufacturer: TapouT
Best MMA Gloves Manufacturer: UFC

View Article Source »

Related articles

MMA Fighting Events


View all